top of page
Rechercher

ALICIA

IMPOSSIBLE


One day, while discussing, I discovered that because of my disability, I was considered as a person who could not have romantic or sexual relations, who could not fall in love. In short, like an empty shell.



AWARENESS


During a meal at the self-service restaurant, I made eye contact with a man and I felt, at this precious moment, that I had to go and talk to him. He was at the other end of the room, and with my wheelchair, it was not easy and fast to move but I had to reach him whatever the cost.



THE CHALLENGE


When you are in a wheelchair, everything becomes an obstacle, but in order to reach this man, I was ready to bypass all obstacles. The other difficulty is that people, when I approach them, tend to move aside to let me pass easily. Yet, my only desire was to be just next to him.



THE SPUR


Finally, I reached his side and the magic happened. We found ourselves in front of the coffee machine talking as if we had known each other forever. He offered a coffee and I had butterflies in my stomach and my eyes.



I’M_POSSIBLE


For weeks, we met in front of this coffee machine. In reality, I hate coffee, but at that time, it didn’t matter. Today, smelling the coffee, seeing a coffee cup is self-sufficient to remind me of those precious times that I am not an empty shell.


© Illustrations Amélie Orhant

bottom of page