top of page
Rechercher

CÉLINE

IMPOSSIBLE


I am 50 years old. I am a teacher, single, mother of two children. I am suffering from multiple sclerosis since my 30’s and I am in a wheelchair for several years now. I have not taken vacations since my divorce three year ago. I needed a change of scenery. I was going in circles at home. Time was getting long and monotonous. I was wondering when I would ever be able to leave.



THE CHALLENGE


My parents, who live in Loire-Atlantique, offered to join them for the holidays. I remember taking the train for a small trip, and I thought, why not ? Then, I looked for a direct train to avoid connections, because it is too complicated in a wheelchair.



ORGANISATION


Indeed, after researching, there was a direct train to my destination. That was when I started organizing my trip. In 3 weeks, everything was ready. Personal care on the spot, SNCF support service, adequate material on my holiday destination and so on. On the D-day, my sister drove me to the train station to pick up my car so that she did stay in the parking lot during my trip. The SNCF support took charge of me as soon as I arrived at the station. Several passengers helped me make my transfers and stayed for a pleasant journey. Once I arrived, my parents came to welcome me and we went to our place of vacation for the next three weeks.



I’M_POSSIBLE


I settled in and I was very happy. I was able to visit the city alone and everything I had planned thanks to door to door service. I took time for myself, I had some self care and “beauty” time. I spent a wonderful vacation without the everyday worries. Proud of myself, I hope to be able to do it again !


©Illustrations Élodie Tchibanda

bottom of page