top of page
Rechercher

MÉLISSA

IMPOSSIBLE


I worked nine year in a super U in Lot-and-Garonne. I started as a checkout operator and I quickly evolved to receptionist. At the beginning, everything was fine, I went along with my colleagues but as the year went by, I got bored. I had the feeling to see it all, to not live anything new with my job. There were even some moments when I told myself “what I am doing here”, I felt out of place.



AWARENESS


There were tensions between the direction and the staff. After 4-5 years, an agrandissement of the supermarket came to multiply and reinforce tensions. I came to work with my stomach going into knots, sometimes I left work crying. The good relationship with the colleague was not enough for my balance. I became aware of my need to resign and get out. But regularly I told myself that it was comfortable, that I had a job close to my family and my friend. All of my relatives lived there. I knew I was going to live one day, but I could not get in movement.



THE SPUR


My family did not encourage me to leave this situation. They told me to be careful, that it was not wise to leave a permanent contract. Then, I understood that they were not going to be helpful in this situation and it was my responsibility to change things. At the same moment, on a dating site, I met Ismael. We discussed it before physically meeting for a year.

During our discussions, he told me that he already happened to be in my shoes. Living in the north, he got tired of his job and took the decision to leave everything to move in Arcachon bay. He encouraged me to get out of the situation by deconstructing my fear linked to the permanent contract. While discussing with him, I understood that I needed to do it.



THE CHALLENGE


One year later, Ismael told me that he will never leave Arcachon bay for the lot and Garonne. He proposed, as his own way, to meet him. I understood at that time that it was the moment to initiate change. It all went very fast. We performed a civil partnership and found a house in two weeks. In two weeks. I left my job and the Lot and Garonne.



I'M_POSSIBLE


I settle in Gironde, and I took the time to think about what I wanted to do. I manage to find an activity that combines selling and meeting people while preserving my independence. Today, we have a two year old little girl. I am blooming in my job. I am very proud to be here. I know that I have the capacity to access my freedom.


Illustrations © Amélie Orhant

bottom of page