top of page
Rechercher

SARAH

IMPOSSIBLE


It was in 2015, when my husband’s firm started to lose market shares and then be bankrupt. During a year, he did not talk to me about it. He did consumer credit and deposited it on our bank account, like it was a wage thinking it was enough. Then, one day, I received the first letter of court bailiff and threats of expulsion because we did not pay rent. It was a catastrophe.

I realize that my wage will never cover the amount of debts and he was in total denial.



AWARENESS


The moment when I realize that I had to do something is when I received a letter from our bank which threatened to close our account. I got very scared to become homeless, scared to lose my child custody.



THE CHALLENGE


I needed to protect my children at any cost. I had to find a solution to keep at least our apartment. I was ashamed so I didn’t talk to anyone about it, not even my surroundings nor a social worker. My father used to say “there is no problem, which cannot be solved.” I had to find the solution.

After researching on the web, I searched for “debt” in the search engine, I read websites, forums and discovered the possibility to fill a file of over-indebtedness to the French bank.



THE SPUR


After doing this file, that allowed us to start over, I settled up and realized that it was not enough. I turned to social association for food assistance (Les Resto du Coeur). I needed more courage to ask for help than doing the step alone, but it was a huge relief to be accompanied, not to be judged. Across the testimonies of the other beneficiaries, I realized that we were not the only one in this situation and we bounce back.



I'M_POSSIBLE


I felt like drowning and going back to the surface. Today, I succeed in getting us out of this situation and I am proud of it. I am so happy to have kept my apartment and kept my children safe. When I can, I drop food packages at Les Resto du Coeur.


Illustrations © Élodie Tchibanda

bottom of page