top of page
Rechercher

FLORIAN

IMPOSSIBLE


I had a very hetero-normalized education, my father was always vere religious. For him, homosexuality was inconceivable. When I entered high school, I just wanted a friend because I was very lonely and uncomfortable in my body. The last year of high school, I understood that I wanted something else and I started having feelings for boys.

For me, it was impossible to feel that I could not be attracted to men. I thought maybe it was because I was ugly and fat that girls did not care about me that I unconsciously went to boys.



REFUSAL/DENIAL


I realized I was gay, but I denied it in high school. I had almost no knowledge or representation of the LBGT community, other than cliché in which I did not recognize myself.

I only lived with my father at that time and I didn’t want to disappoint him or be rejected. Moreover, I had always sought at all cost to “fit” to find friends and homosexuality went against that.



AWARENESS


Thanks to the theater club, in which my mother enrolled me, I discovered people who did not see homosexuality as a problem, on the contrary. Two of my classmates often pretended to be in a relationship. It showed me that homosexuality can be banal, even something positive.



THE SPUR


Little by little, realizing that my father's speech was very different from that of the young people around me, I realized that adults were not always right. I understood that I could have my own opinion, that it was valid and that there was no reason why I couldn't be myself. I had a group of girl friends who read maga yaoi (romances between two men) and for them homosexuality was even "sexy"

It was stepping aside and questioning adults that helped me. I came out in several stages. The first person I told was my best friend, then my mom and my brother..



I'M_POSSIBLE


Today I take responsibility for my homosexuality, I have no problem talking about it. My father has only recently known about it and it's up to him to accept it, it's not for me to change.


Illustrations © Élodie Tchibanda

bottom of page